It Never Should Have Happened


I am sure there are many times that you and I have said those same words. It never should have happened. I know I have said them and added another word after them. Period. I never could have conceived that maybe, just maybe it should have happened. I am not saying ever atrocity that has ever happened should have but with somethings maybe it should have happened.

I am not going into detail here the why but there is a shift with in me that says life, or it, can happen and how we respond is more important than why it happened. In honesty I want the reader to know what brought this into pin point focus is I made some choices that have negatively affected some dear friends. It may end said friendship if we do not get over this one little misconception: It did happen.

There is no way around the fact I could have turned left instead of right when the choice presented itself. I choose and it happened. Now comes the rub: If the road rises up to meet us at every turn how do we react when we hit the rough spots in the road? Do we turn around and go back to our happy spot of self-denial and pretend it never happened? Does smooth roads define friendships and relationships or the difficult paths?

As I sit on our porch listening to the rain dancing on the old tin roof I remember a line out of Evan Almighty that goes like this: “Let me ask you something. If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other? Life’s hard times define our being, our faith and our hopes more than the good times.”

Maybe it should have happened after all.

Leave a Reply

